My MX Linux journey begins

Shawn Grover
4 min readAug 29, 2020
Photo by Kevin Horvat on Unsplash

I’m new to MX Linux, but not to Linux. Here is my review of MX Linux running on my laptop, and the things I’ve had to tweak.

I’ve written a few articles about the “fun” I’ve been having getting Linux running on my newer laptop. I’ve removed these though as they were more of a journal entry and not really useful to anyone. In this article I want to discuss the items I needed to tweak to get things running the way I wanted.

Quick notes about the laptop to provide some context. My new laptop is an Asus A15 TUF506, with the AMD Ryzen 7 4800H, 16 GB of RAM, and an Nvidia GTX-1650 video card. I have found that the common Linux distributions have problems this hardware. To my delight I have found that MX Linux runs out of the box on this laptop, with only a couple of minor tweaks needed.

Tweaks:

  • KDE Installation
  • Video Card selection
  • Power Management / Booting with systemd

KDE Installation

I opted to use the KDE version of the MX Installer. This booted up into a KDE live environment where I could run the installer. The installation went smoothly with the noted exception about the video card mentioned below.

Plasma fired up no problems, and everything seemed to be working as expected. Any…

--

--